Daal-Baati-Churma

[ Image-courtesy Google Image search.]

My dad is rajasthani Maratha. Ok,I am kidding-there is so such community. But my dad spent most of his childhood in Rajasthan and is equally at home at both his village in rajasthan and at his posh Thane home. His home-town,Lakheri, is home to one of the oldest cement factories and that’s where my dad got his first job as a chemist. And though he got transferred later,I spent the first 10 years of my life at Lakheri.

And since my father’s family was pretty well-known and loved there, any time we were invited to one of the local homes, we were served the special meal of DaalbaatiChurma.And I remember feeling so full and heady after those meals. And not to mention,thirsty.. All that Ghee does that to you.

This time when my dad was here,I pestered him and finally we planned to have this special meal.Now,I have made Daalbaati on my own before ,but this time,with dad’s special tips,it turned out awesome and so I had to share the recipe here.Daal is basically a mixture of 3 or 5 daals.Here I am using a mixture of 3 daals. Baati is essentially balls of flour, baked in an oven and eaten with the above mentioned daal.

Here goes-

Daal :-

Ingredients-

1 cup urad Dal

1 cup chana Dal
1 cup whole moong.
2-3 green chillies
1 tsp fresh grated ginger
1 tsp fresh grated garlic
1 tsp red chili powder
1 tsp coriander powder
1 tsp garam masala
salt to taste
1/2 tsp cumin seeds
ghee for seasoning
fresh chopped coriander for garnish.

Mix the three daals together-wash and soak in warm water for 30 minutes.


Boil the Daal mixture with about 4 cups of water and salt till soft.Keep aside.


Preparing the seasoning- Heat ghee in a pan.Add cumin seeds .When they start splattering, add cut green chilies and then add all the spices- red chili powder,corriander powder,garam masala and mix well.Add half a cup of water and bring it to a boil.Add this to the cooked daal, add another 1/2 cup water and bring it to a boil. Simmer for 2 minutes. Garnish with fresh cut coriander and serve hot.

Baati- ( Makes about 12-14 baatis)

Ingredients-
2 cups Whole wheat flour
1/4 cup semolina
1/2 tsp ajwain ( Ajowan /carom seeds)
1/2 cup ghee
salt to taste
water to knead the dough.

Method-

Sift the flour and semolina. Add ajwain seeds and salt.Keep aside. Melt ghee in a pan. Make a well in the flour and pour the molten ghee in it. Mix it all well. And make it into a hard ball of dough adding minimum water.

Make small,smooth balls of this dough. Arrange on a greasedbaking tray.


Pre-heat oven to 450 F(four hundred and fifty) and bake these balls for 20 minutes, turning over in 10 minutes, so that both the sides are evenly cooked. Grill for 5 minutes on each side.

Serve hot with ghee and daal. Enjoy!

Unfortunately,I dont have any more pictures for you-The food was so appetizing and the aroma had already made us so hungry that pictures were the last thing on my mind. So,I had to post pictures from other Google image search.

This entry was posted in Rajasthani. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daal-Baati-Churma

  1. 2B's mommy says:

    I was drooling over that daal-baati plate. I love it and I can’t have dinner after having this for lunch. Its so filling.I tried making it once from Sanjeev Kapoor’s recipe and didn’t tell my guests about how much ghee had gone into churma untill after they had finished the meal !Now that you have reminded me of this yummy meal idea, I am gonna make it soon. Will try your dal recipe this time. And I didn’t add ajwain in the baati last time, but, will try it next time.

  2. DotThoughts says:

    I wanted a recipe for this – an authentic one- for soo long. can’t wait for winter to make this!

  3. i love daal bati too…i make it every once in a while …will note this recipe too 🙂

Leave a Reply

