YAYYYYY My first Tag!

I remember reading on another blog-“You have arrived,when you get Tagged” and every time a tag did the rounds,I secretly wished to be tagged!And its just such a happy a coincidence that my first tag is from one of my favorite bloggers and about one of my favorite things-Books!
I was always fascinated by books and its all thanks to my mom.She introduced me to book really early and I am told that by age 5,I had read and reread,kids books and magazines like Champak and Chanda-Mama and was trying to read the comic section in grown-up magazines.Mom was more than happy and her only rule was that I shouldn’t read the stories as they are for grown ups. Well,I listened for a few years and then curiosity took over! Like Boo,before the school year even started I would have finished reading the english and hindi text books and so needed some more stuff to read up. Here’s my list-
Some of the finest stories I read were in Marathi magazines,Diwali edition.Unfortunately,I dont remember the authors or the stories,because most of these stories were read in a hurry, rushed through with trepidition of getting caught.But two books I remember reading leisurely were-
Ramayana and Mahabharata in marathi.Again I dont remember who the translators were,because this is a long long time ago,when I was 10! But,I remember thoroughly enjoying these two novels and I took my own sweet time to finsh them.
The next one that comes to my mind is Swami and friends.We had just moved to Saudi Arabia and I was curious what happens to Swami.Mom searched high and low and found the book for me!And it is one of my most treasured reads.
Train to Pakistan by Khushwant Singh.
Short stories by Ruskin Bond-I used to love reading those.
And then there was this beautiful story about a cow..it was so well written and was so full of emotions..I just cant seem to remember the author or the name of the book..It was a hindi read..if anyone else has read it and know the name..please please tell me!
Of the new ones-
An Equal Music by Vikram Seth
The Mango Season by Amulya Malladi-Its a very well written story of an indian girl,coming from a strict andhra brahmin family,who falls in love with an American!Makes for good light reading!
The Mistress of Spices by Chitra Divakaruni Bannerjee-I had so much fun reading this book..it was just so mysterious and magical,the movie was a disappointment!
And this one I have to mention-
Shantaram by Gregory DAvid Roberts-I started to read this when I was pregnant-Its based on the life of the author,who was an australian robber,he escapes from a prison in New Zealand and comes to Bombay..I couldnt complete this book as I had borrowed it from the library, but it just made me so nostalgic and at the same time pointed out facts which we just ignore..like drug pedalling in Leopold restaurant etc..I still need to finish this one.
Other books on my list are-
Gods of Small Things by Arundhati Roy- Reading it now!
Ravan and Eddie-I want to know what you guys are raving about!
Midnight’s children by Salman Rushdie..Has been on my list for a long time,just never got the nerve to read it.
The house of BLue MAngoes(Now that i know its written by MM’s uncle-I gotta read it)
Mistress and Ladies Coupe by Anita Nair-They are lying on my bookshelf
These are all I can think of right now..I havent really read too many Indian writers,but I am always on the look out for new India writers.
Thanx to this tag,I have added a lot of titles to my list of must-reads!
I tag-
Mona,Asha,rdbans,Kodi’s mom and Rayshma!

This entry was posted in tags. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to YAYYYYY My first Tag!

  1. the mad momma says:

    God! ur kidding me. I tag you right now to do three tags. all three on my blog. just so that you know what a nuisance it is!

  2. Asha says:

    I have already done this tag.. thanks anyway! đŸ™‚

  3. rayshma says:

    i am SO sorry.. i’d completely skipped this post and tag. will take it up… :))

Leave a Reply

